picky, picky, picky

Certain behaviors ought not be for public viewing.

Personal cell phone calls.

Nudity. {except at designated beaches, etc.}

Sex.

Picking your nose.

There’s an appetite suppressant!

I was at Starbucks last night. Fairly empty due to the holiday. A god-saving perk for anyone who wasn’t there!

But there I was, at a table with laptop.

Nearby sat a man in an overstuffed chair. Around 55 to 65 years old. Reading his electronic device. Picking his nose.

At length.

And repeatedly.

Finger shoved up the left nostril, wiggled about. Perhaps he did likewise with the right. I don’t recall. I don’t want to.

He’d let it rest. Then 10 minutes later same thing. Finger up the nostril and stirred around like he was stirring a martini.

Cancel that. No one needs that image associated with cocktails.

He picked his nose repeatedly. From his chair in the center of Starbucks. Blatantly. No attempt to conceal. None whatsoever. Never looking up from his electronics.

I stared directly at him with that same stare extended to car accidents. You’re disgusted, revolted, nauseated. Yet you can’t look away.

That can’t-look-away stare. It’s the mind’s way of informing you: This is beyond the pale. Not the norm. And though I’m about to puke (or am puking), still I must stare. To make sure it is real.

Ohhhhh, baby, it was all too real.

 

I stared out of revulsion. And a hope that he’d glance up, catch me staring, be ashamed and stop his nose-picking.

Alas, it did not happen. Thus I was “treated” to several rounds in one short hour.

Came time for Starbucks to close. The Picker merely packed up his electronics and exited. La-de-dah. Nonchalant. As if he’d been sitting in his living room the entire time.

Ohhhhh, and we were anywhere but!

I don’t claim to understand people in this way so perhaps you can enlighten me? Explain why on earth a person past the age of 2 would behave thusly.

I don’t get it. When I think about it, maybe I don’t want to.

What I do want is to wash those hideous images out of my mind!

Or at the very least hand him a box of Kleenex and a map to the restroom in a straight line 15 feet away.

You pick your battles.

You pick your parents.

You pick your mate.

You pick your car, residence, college major, the list goes on.

But I’m sorry, you do NOT pick your nose in public! Call me picky {couldn’t resist} about public manners. That’s just me.

Talk to Me

