Wildflower rises to the occasion. (Literally)

Literally.

Wildflower Bread is a cafe, bakery and catering company in the same vein as Panera … down to the gas fireplace and comfortable seating that invites you to sit and stay a while.

The Wildflower here in Prescott is one of my favorite places. The staff’s always friendly, the salads, soups, sandwiches and artisan breads (for which they’re famous) are tasty and nutritious; the pastries, cookies and dessert bars, not so healthful. πŸ˜‰ A mug of coffee is endless and the Wi-Fi solid.

To my knowledge, Wildflower stores are found only in Arizona (believe they’re based in Scottsdale). My local Wildflower has many, many loyal regulars, myself included.

Every year, Wildflower bakes up thousands of loaves of Honey Wheatberry, bags them in paper bags bearing a nice, homey design and gives them to mothers, along with a card, until supplies last.

My store alone reportedly baked some 500 loaves for the moms of Prescott and anywhere else. It’s a nice-sized loaf too, unsliced and ready for toasting, sandwiches and sharing.

I’ve been looking forward to it for weeks. (I’m on their email list so knew the day was coming. πŸ˜‰

My visits are typically mid- to late-afternoon (to skirt lunch and dinner rushes). I’d been so anticipating the nice lil’ treat and knowing how busy they’d be on Mother’s Day and not wanting to risk them running out of loaves, I ventured in early around 1.30.

Place was PACKED! Wall-to-wall people. Every table filled and the din palpable. Luncheons with moms indeed! Fortunately, I bumped into the head fellow, who gifted me with a loaf, thereby enabling me to bypass the seriously long line, turn and return later!

I enjoyed the weight of the loaf in my hand, the quaint paper and the card. I vowed to return later when the crowd dies down and here I am … at a much saner hour of 4:45 p.m.!

However, my experience isn’t the point of the post.

The point is: Wildflower Bread Company makes a kind and wonderful gesture every year for mothers. They spend hours and hours and days and days preparing and baking their yeast loaves, then packaging each individually, in order to say “thank you, mothers.”

Personally, I truly look forward to it because I’m always alone on Mother’s Day. Their token of gratitude to the women who give life and raise us all is endearing. On this day, they rise to the occasion. Literally.

Good deeds deserve recognition. So hats off to Wildflower! Just pretend it’s a baker’s hat.

hatsoff

Talk to Me

