The path chosen too means the path not chosen

It’s 50-50. A toss-up. A coin toss. Either or. Six or one-half dozen of the other.

Whatever you call it, it’s a tough choice.

I have, as we speak, two options for a new residence. Each has its pros and cons, plusses and minuses, strengths and weak points.

Each is doable. Each is livable. And each is within reach. That is to say, as soon as I submit an application, it’s a close-to-certain if not certain green light.

I love having choices! There’s no question about that. Yet choices are demanding too. They demand that you know who you are, what you want in present time and sometimes where you want to go. They demand a certain level of self-awareness, truth-telling and realism.

The housing search has achieved its apex. The process is shifting from looking for a new place to moving. I feel it in my bones and gut.

Where do I want to live?

The studio (well, officially 1-bedroom) on the hill above the library?
Or the studio on the tree-lined street?

Excellent choices, each. Neither into the infinite future. But for present time, and on the occasion of a forced move by some not-very-nice people, more than doable.

Each time I weigh the pros and cons, I arrive at the same place: It’s equal.

Each time I call upon my reasoning, same answer: either.

Each time I palpate my heart for where she wants to go: either.

It’s about as balanced a choice as it could be! As true an either-or dynamic as it could be!

Thing is, I don’t have the luxury of hanging in limbo for long. Each place needs an application immediately to for the most part seal the deal. And one of the two needs an answer by 5 p.m. today. If it’s no, then the abode will be returned to the public pool.

Yikes! Talk about just a little pressure! hahaha

I’ll say that all things being equal, they’re REALLY not. There’s one element that weighs in favor of one place.

The lease.

It’s a 1-year lease at one place and a 6-month at the other. Normally, I think, most would favor the security of a year lease. No rent increases. Hard to kick someone out simply out of personal dislike (which has been the case at my current residence).

On the downside, a year lease means penalties if you want or need to move before the lease is up.

A 6-month lease — which is far more than anything I’ve had in the past 3 years!! — offers both breathing room and stability.

Again, it becomes nearly impossible to evict someone simply because another tenant or landlord doesn’t like you.

On the other hand, you’ve got some protection for stabilizing for six months, which in my book is quite a long time to live anywhere yet is not deep into infinity.

You’re safe for six months but not trapped.

I have a decision to make by 5 p.m. today. From this fork in the road, will I pick path A or path B?

Whatever the choice, my life is about to change considerably as I release my current abode and take up residence in an other.

In as little as a week, I could be waking up in a whole new space .. returning each evening to a whole new space … scrubbing a whole new kitchen and bathroom on my knees … looking out a window and seeing a whole different view than the wall of the next apartment building that I now see.

What will I do? Where will I go? In less than five hours, a life-altering decision shall be made.

But no pressure or anything. 😉

Talk to Me

